The Welsh Grand Prix Blog

It's motorsport, isn't it?

Epsilon Euskadi confirm entry

leave a comment »

Spanish sports car constructors and World Series by Renault entrants Epsilon Euskadi have confirmed their entry into the 2010 F1 championship. The team, founded in 1999, is led by F1 veterans Joan Villadelprat and Sergio Rinland and is based at Azkoitia in the Basque region of northern Spain. Their greatest achievement to date is taking Robert Kubica to the 2005 WSR title, and the team also entered 2 cars into last year’s Le Mans 24 Hours with well-known names such as Stefan Johansson, Jean-Marc Gounon, Shinji Nakano and the team’s current WSR driver Adrian Valles in the line-up. Valles is currently joined in the WSR team by New Zealander Chris van der Drift, the reigning International Formula Master champion.

They have the facilities and they say they’ve got the budget for at least 4 years, so this is another potentially strong entry for next year. Villadelprat and Rinland know their way around F1, with Villadelprat working with McLaren, Ferrari and Benetton amongst others and Rinland most recently employed by Sauber, designing the C20 for the 2001 season.

Elsewhere, has suggested that Manor Motorsport, 9-times race winners in the F3 Euroseries and race winners in British F3 as well, are “rumoured to be keen to get involved”. Another entrant, perhaps?


Written by James Bennett

June 3, 2009 at 17:29

Posted in F1 rumours, F1 teams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: